A New Travel Companion.

I love a good “whats in the bag” entry but ever since I got my little sidekick, I can’t fit much more into my bag than my wallet, Nintendo, and the sidekick. I’ve been traveling around a lot lately and on top of not being able to get internet connection 75% of my week, I also have no room in my bag for some travel essentials.

This week has been filled with amazing little shopping finds. One of them being the 5 dollar hard suitcase I found at a thrift store in New Jersey. If you couldn’t tell from this entry, I’m a bit of a collector of old suitcases. What’s not to love?!

  • They’re aesthetically pleasing
  • There is attention paid to the fabric and detail
  • They are so much nicer to look at than storage boxes
  • They have extra little compartments for things that are irrelevant in standard life nowadays
  • And there always seems to be some mystery stains on the interior of them that remind me that someone got a good use out if it before I received it

I have several hard shell cases, but this is the first on that I’ve actually bought with the intention of using it to travel with.

The divider wall does a lovely job at holding my lady things, an old cigarette case filled with on-the-go sewing supplies, and some Japanese snacks (yamagobo and shredded squid are both SO good). The little blue guy on the top is my awesome kewpie inspired baby biter toy from Paul Kaiju.

Another amazing girl purchase of the week are these shoes from one of those questionable trendy shops called Afaze. They set me back 15 bucks, and are the most comfortable heels I own.

This detachable pouch is my favorite compartment of the little travel companion. It fits all the computer cords and charges I seem to use everyday, perfectly!

The inside of this pouch even held a little key!

Now I don’t have to worry about someone stealing my fifteen dollar shoes, thank god.

I think this is the first time in my life I have been super excited about things like shoes and shopping. Sorry about that…..here….listen to my favorite Metallica song.

 

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “A New Travel Companion.”

  1. scottcarberry Says:

    Yes! I remember being fascinated by hard shell suitcases when I was a kid. Here’s a question; what makes a carrying case a “Valise”?

  2. demme Says:

    this entry rocks.

  3. monkeyKing Says:

    random stuff: just gave my old samsonite to goodwill. it was large enough to carry a 5 (maybe small 8) yr old child! (if only you spoke up sooner.)
    the pic of Charly in the bag makes me wonder ’bout tips for travling with small dog on rail and air (as carry-on).
    after seeing that Charo has a Vegas show, was reminded how awesome Xavier was…

  4. dietplaid Says:

    I bought a small train travel case on etsy this summer. I looove it. The hard green case is so cool.

  5. Ellie @ Samsonite Discount Says:

    Hi, just doing some research for my Samsonite site. Truly more information than you can imagine on the web. Not quite what I was looking for, but good site. Take care.

Leave a Reply

