What’s Black and White With Pixels All Over?

This was a test shot I took back in 2006. After turning this junky shot into black and white and tinkering with it for a while, I’m now in love with it!

I feel that, for as long as people have taken any sort of notice of my photos, they’ve pointed out that I have a distinct  style. Its obvious that I love to push the limits of saturation. I’ve relied greatly on it ever since I learned how to digitally tweak photos. As much as I love using a lot of eye popping color, I’m looking for a new challenge.

When I was in Los Angeles recently, I spent an entire day at the Annenberg where I was completely enamored by The Year exhibit. I was inspired mostly by the black and white images. The noise in them, the perfect contrast, and in almost every single shot had such subtle vignetting. These main elements made it so easy to pin point the importance of the moment in the photograph without being overwhelmed by the colors and textures.

My next goal is to step outside of my comfort zone of color and learn how to edit in black and white. I’m confident that I’m off to a pretty decent start.

After closing the bar during Courtney’s first trip to New York, we made our way straight over to the Today Show. To our surprise, it was swarming with preteens waiting to see Miranda Cosgrove. The early morning also featured a father who was less than pleased to hear children screaming with joy while the cameras weren’t even on them.

All Photos taken by Chloe Rice

Tags: , , , ,

9 Responses to “What’s Black and White With Pixels All Over?”

  1. Ben Says:

    Hey you, long time no anything. Your photographs are beautiful and real. I am in England, long story, short ending. Say hi sometime. B.

  2. Isa Says:

    I wish you a good time with your black and white editing, but please don’t lose your distinct style completely.

    Your colour photos are so fresh, clean and happy. I am pretty sure you can transport that into black/white photography, but please post a colour picture…. once in a while… I’d be happy 😉

  3. Frank Says:

    Interesting, I know what you mean about trying to get out of your comfort zone. However, I think a lot of people use B&W to save otherwise mediocre color photos. As you have a good idea for color composition (and no fear of the saturation slider) I think you are already in a pretty good spot. But, sometime B&W is just more effective. I took a lot of shots in Mexico recently and some of them were really improved by converting them to B&W. Anyway, have fun with it. When I hit a dry patch a while back I went out and bought a basic photography book and tried to do the exercises in each chapter, it really made me rethink the basics of composition and tone and textures. You can find cheap, used ones on Amazon for under $10. Just a suggestion if you are looking for other inspiration. I look forward to seeing the progress. Speaking of B&W saving a shot, I won a contest with a B&W conversion of one of the Mexico shots a few weeks ago… woot… free travel vouchers (http://grantourismotravels.com/2010/09/03/grantourismo-travel-blogging-competition-august-winners/).

    • ohChloe Says:

      I have several photography books that I had to buy when I started college, 7 years ago. I never read them. I don’t think I’ve looked at them since I even purchased them. Perhaps its time to break them out thanks to your comment.
      That winning shot is AMAZNG! Congratulations!
      I think I need your address again, by the way…

  4. Isa Says:

    Thanks for answering my comment and I’m relieved that we can still expect some crazy, colourful pictures from you in the future. Yeeeah 🙂

    I need my weekly Chloe Rice photography fix ^^

  5. Casca Says:

    My instructor required the reverse. We had to work with black and white exclusively for two years before we ever saw color film. We spent hours in the darkroom perfecting each print. Burn and dodge. Push. Develop. Dry. Analyze and do it again. It’s certainly faster now thanks to the computer – but I have to admit I miss the smell of the chemicals and the intimacy of the darkroom. : – )

Leave a Reply

