The Celebratory New Yorker.

I’m a pretty bad New Yorker. I’ve been out of town for the beginning of every September since “nine eleven”, up until this year. Every year, people spend September 11th telling you for the 20th time exactly where they were in 2001, while a part of my favorite city crumbled. (Yeah. I get it you’re morning rituals were affected that day. ugh!)

I’m so glad I was here for it this year. It seems pretty insensitive to what that day represents but I feel like a real New Yorker doesn’t dwell on the past and much as they turn it into a celebration! So:

There was another photographer at Galas birthday party. We swapped lenses for a bit, so I got to use the nicer version of my 50mm for the afternoon. Heres some of the shots I took from the party

Tags: , , , ,

9 Responses to “The Celebratory New Yorker.”

  1. :: smo :: Says:

    hey it’s cool, maybe this many years later we can start remembering other stuff that happened on that day in history. like gandhi’s first satyagraha!

    killer photos as usual!!!

  2. dietplaid Says:

    I’m seeing pink sparkly awesomeness!

  3. TC Says:

    That’s a great dress. It will look great next season, too.

  4. Laura O! Says:

    Normality has been restored – blond Chloe is back! Also, nice Choking Victim hoodie.

    Oh man, I love the sour face one. Everything about it is wonderful.

  5. JC Says:

    “Every year, people spend September 11th telling you for the 20th time exactly where they were in 2001, while a part of my favorite city crumbled. (Yeah. I get it you’re morning rituals were effected that day. ugh!)”

    First: Affected and Effected – choose wisely.
    Secondly, and maybe it’s just your choice of words that misdirected me, but it seems like you’re saying these people’s emotional discharge that was catalyzed by the events on 9/11 are either disingenuous or rooted in something psychologically shallow… or the people you’re listening to are totally heartless.
    They’d have to be if all they shared was the anguish of changing of their morning routine as a result of 9/11.
    If it isn’t that, perhaps you’re simply exhibiting an inability to interpret tragedy and sympathize/empathize with people as a result of that tragedy – therefore making you heartless…puzzling me even more because about a month ago or so you’re sharing your own emotional vulnerability with others on the ‘Mope mix’ post in a passing effort to achieve some sort of consolation, but now you can’t and/or won’t give it.
    I guess compassion is a one-way street inbound for Chloe town, while all outbound lanes are either closed or still under development.
    Oh, and btw your hair looks good in any color, really.
    And your photos are pretty nice.

    • Laura O! Says:

      I guess I’ll take the bait:

      You seem woefully presumptuous. Sure, 9/11 was a tragedy and a few thousand innocent people died, but to assume that anyone who dares move past it is heartless comes off as simply arrogant. What do you do on Memorial Day? Visit graves of long-gone veterans or head to the beach? Also, your failure to mention the countless, nameless Iraqi and Afghan victims who have also suffered puts you on that same unsympathetic boat you’re quick to criticize.

      Besides, for someone so quick to jump on incorrect grammar, your reading comprehension sucks. What do you think this means?

      “I’m so glad I was here for it this year. It seems pretty insensitive to what that day represents but I feel like a real New Yorker doesn’t dwell on the past and much as they turn it into a celebration!”

      Seems to me that she’s a proud New Yorker who won’t let the somber tones of this date ruin her ability to continue to enjoy life, friends and her favorite city. Oh yes, so callous.

      • Mike Says:

        I’d like to firstly state that I worked at the site on September 11th. I was supposed to assist the police department as a mechanic to repair rescue vehicles that were damaged when the towers collapsed. (Like everyone else the police department had no idea what the scene was like).

        When I arrived on the scene we found there was nothing to fix. So I was asked to help the recovery efforts. I spent the day picking up body parts and putting them in bags and labeling them while cataloging what I found on a clip board.

        Now let me explain. I have no intention of claiming I have more of a right than anyone else to feel what I feel. Nor will I say that anyone else doesn’t have the right to do or feel what they feel within them. I state where I was because it is a fact and I have a strong connection to that day in history.

        Note to “JC” above. I DARE you to say my morning ritual was merely “effected.” I fucking dare you. Because I carry that day in my heart every day since.

        So where was I this Sept. 11th? I was at a birthday party with Chloe. I’m not a soldier or anyone trained to handle what I was asked to do that day, but what I am is a human being that would rather celebrate life while quietly and respectfully grieve those that were lost.

      • JC Says:

        Laura,
        If Chloe or anyone else’s ability to move on comes at the expense of belittling other people’s emotional experiences, then what’s to celebrate in that?
        Chloe can celebrate any day she wants, that doesn’t bother me, it’s what she said in the process of doing so that triggered my observations.
        I didn’t comment on this discussion to address the finer points of 9/11 or the war that followed because it wasn’t relevant to the initial observations I had regarding the perceived insensitivity she showed towards others.

        The fact that her comments related to 9/11 was circumstantial.
        It could have been a different time, a different tragedy or unfortunate event and my observations would have been the same had she made the same type of remark.

        Mike, I truly respect your connection to that day.
        What you had to endure would leave me shelled.

        Could you explain what you mean about calling your morning rituals merely effected?
        Those were actually Chloe’s words, not mine – so I couldn’t get through the meaning.

  6. Nikki Says:

    the balloon shot = tremendous.

Leave a Reply

