A Dignified Version of Eggs and Ketchup (69/365)

I’m not a fan of eggs. I find them most bearable drenched in hollandaise sauce or ketchup. yes….ketchup. This morning, I made what is pretty much the more dignified version eggs with ketchup.

Poached eggs in a simple tomato sauce.

I’ve never tried poaching eggs. I guess all the things I read about how difficult and confusing it is has lead me to shy away from giving it a shot. By poaching them into a tomato sauce, you run a far less significant chance of screwing something up because its more dense than water. It was a good way to ease into the world of poaching.

This meal was just whipped together out of things around my kitchen, and took about 20 minutes to make. I’m in love with it. I may marry it. If i do, Jim Ray of Salt & Fat will have to be there, since he introduced us.The ingredients I used, are as follows:

  • a small white onion
  • 2 cloves chopped garlic
  • half a can of pealed (or diced) tomatoes
  • 2 eggs

Cooking Directions:

  • Place the chopped onions and chopped garlic into a small sauce pan with some olive oil. Sauté them until the onions become translucent.
  • Pour in the canned tomatoes and all the liquid it has to offer.
  • Bring the sauce to a boil on a medium low heat.

  • Crack eggs into a bowl and glide them into the tomato sauce.

  • Let the eggs cook, on a low heat, in the sauce with a lid on until the whites set. (about 5 minutes)
  • Turn off the stove, take off the lid and let it sit and cook for an additional 2-3 minutes.
  • Scoop out the eggs with a ladle and place them on top of something delicious like an english muffin, toast, tortilla chips, ect.
  • Sprinkle with coarse salt and pepper and feed your belly

You’ll have a lot of sauce left over which is great because you can save it and make pasta for dinner, or make as many poached eggs as your guts desire.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

14 Responses to “A Dignified Version of Eggs and Ketchup (69/365)”

  1. M Says:

    Hello Chloe Oh Chloe!
    I just wanted to say that I adore your blog, and as an aspiring photographer, I was going to ask if you could give me any tips? Also, what kind of editing program do you use? 🙂 If you could perhaps email me, that would be fantastic. I’m a big fan of your work.
    xoxo! M.

  2. fattydumpling Says:

    Wow. This is something special. I’ve eaten my eggs with ketchup before, but who knew that it can look delicious and sophisticated at the same time? A giant white-yellow-red blob is still quite pretty, though ;D

  3. :: smo :: Says:

    how would you like your eggs? scrambled or fertilized?!

    or poached. that’s what i meant to say…

    poached eggs have always been infinitely mysterious to me. i just sort of never knew how to approach them. but they’re everywhere! sometimes i order eggs florentine or whatever just because i have no idea what’s going on with all that. yet now that i have been enlightened i shall see if i can CRACK this mystery.

    thanks for the tip!

  4. ! Says:

    nice turquoise thingy! that color of a rock is nice! i know of someone who makes something like this. they make the egg with some tomatoe and spicy pepper , its spicy but delicious. i hate eggs when they have that yellow stuff, when you poke it , its starts oozing out.that is the most disgusting smell. i once smacked my plate with those damn eggs, but if its not like that, i like them. the spicy pepper (in my opinion)can be realy good with them.

  5. flower mash Says:

    This is a really pretty dish.

    But, ketchup is for one thing only in my world: fries.

  6. weee Says:

    simpler version of shakshuka!

  7. Kourai Says:

    I am at this very second cooking this. I’ll let you know how it turns out for me.

  8. Jim Ray Says:

    Funny thing, I’m actually an ordained minister (Universal Life Church) so I’d be happy to perform the ceremony. Those look fantastic!

    Eggs are amazing, I hope you learn to love ’em more.

  9. Rest In Peace, 2010. « Shoplifting in a Ghost Town Says:

    […] Poaching eggs in tomato sauce […]

Leave a Reply

