Couture Rats (57/365)

I walked out of my room, last night to see that we now own a chinchilla!

To be honest, I thought these things were gonna be a lot like a guinea pig, but it is actually, despite its unbelievably soft fur, it is more of a rat. So now I live with 2 humans, a snake, a pup, and a couture rat! How our house still smells like windex and lavender, is beyond me.

Heres something I didn’t know about Chinchillas:

  • They have no sweat glands, so they don’t do well in heat.
  • They can’t get wet. Not because they’ll reproduce like some adorable mogwai or something, but because they cant clean it off of them, so it can turn into mold rot the chinchilla.

My favorite part of this chinchilla expreience? Getting to say the word all the time.

chinchillachinchillachinchilla

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Couture Rats (57/365)”

  1. ! Says:

    whoa! that sounds like you live in a playhouse! maybe… later on it will smell a little like a circus.thats funny, rot the chinchilla. chinchilla is a nice word, kind of reminds me of enchiladas.

  2. :: smo :: Says:

    couture rats. yes. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3L6SPM6xYs

  3. flower mash Says:

    It’s fun to watch chinchillas “bathe” in the dust or sand. How they hop is funny too.

    • ohChloe Says:

      YES! the dust bath is my favorite!
      This one recently had a stroke, so instead of hopping onto things, it just kind of falls. Equally as hilarious….slightly sadder. Like watching Sean Penn in I Am Sam.

  4. ! Says:

    @ Olivia

    your like my shoplifting in a ghost town bully.

    and yes i did just write “tubular” because it was a you—–tube video! get it “tubular”!

Leave a Reply

