How To Make Some Bad Ass Brownies

BROWNIES

I don’t recall ever being a huge fan of brownies, growing up. Probably because growing up with a less than domestic mother, I always assumed that the kind I made from the box were just how they were supposed to taste. It was kind of like eating a texture-less soggy chocolate cake.

So when I began to learn about baking a bit more, I thought that there had to be a reason WHY people eat this stuff. I realized through my ottering* technique of eating that I only really cared for the top layer. That minuet layer between the papery flakey top and the gooey center. The upper crust, if you will.

Apparently, that thick layer of crunchy sugary goodness that clings to the dense warm gooey layer of chocolate is just a meringue*! So basically my idea of the perfect brownie is a meringue half-breed! The secret to that upper crust is this:

The longer you beat the eggs and sugar in the first step, the thicker your crust will get.

(ottering: When Chloe dissects her food into sections and pieces, eating the most delicious parts and discarding the rest)

(meringue: a light starchy cookie made by beating egg whites and sugar)

I followed a Martha Stewart recipe that required 10 minutes of egg beating. I don’t have the longest attention span, and I used a hand mixer. Hence, I only mixed for about 5-7 minutes before moving forward but they came out fantastic, anyway.

Here is how I made them:ingredients ingredients:

  1. 1 cup of unsalted butter, plus more for pan
  2. 8 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  3. 5 large eggs
  4. 3 1/2 cups sugar
  5. 2 teaspoons instant espresso
  6. 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  7. 1 2/3 cups sifted all-purpose flour
  8. 1/2 teaspoon salt
  9. 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

Raise oven temperature to 400 degrees. Generously butter a 9-by-13-inch baking pan; set aside.Raise oven temperature to 400 degrees. Generously butter a 9-by-13-inch baking pan; set aside.

browniesCombine chocolate and butter in a heat-proof bowl or the top of a double boiler. Set over a pan of simmering water until the chocolate mixture has melted. Remove from heat; set aside.

Add sugar, eggs, and instant espresso to a bowlAdd sugar, eggs, and instant espresso to a bowl

beat eggs, sugar, and espresso at high speed, 10 minutes. n the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat eggs, sugar, and espresso at high speed, 10 minutes.

Reduce speed to low, and add melted-chocolate mixture and the vanilla; beat until combined. Reduce speed to low, and add melted-chocolate mixture and the vanilla; beat until combined.

Slowly add flour and salt; beat just until incorporated. Fold in chocolate chips.Slowly add flour and salt; beat just until incorporated. Fold in chocolate chips.

 Pour the batter into the prepared pan Pour the batter into the prepared pan

Bake until edges are dry but center is still soft, about 35 minutes. Remove pan from oven, and transfer to a wire rack to cool. Cut and inhale.

ohperfect

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “How To Make Some Bad Ass Brownies”

  1. ChristineCanCook Says:

    Beautiful photos and fun way to show your ingredient list!

  2. Renai Says:

    Oh, holy shit.

  3. Lou Says:

    Those photos are divine. Makes me want to go and cook just to take some delicious photos of the process!

    Except for the fact that my cooking process generally involves ingredients smeared all across the kitchen, and me in a raging argument with whatever appliance refused to work for me. 🙂

    • ohdiy Says:

      oh man. I feel ya’. There is still chocolate stains splashed along my walls because of disagreement with a temperamental electric mixer

  4. Sunny Says:

    OMG finally someone who understands my top-of-the-brownie love. this is my new favourite website.

  5. Sunny Says:

    totally. A brownie without the crispy crunchy chewy part on top is no brownie of mine.

  6. Kate! Says:

    On a whim, I checked to see if I had what was needed to make these brownies. I did. It was a sign. I made them then and there and they were the best brownies I’ve ever had.

  7. CoNfEtTi FrIdAy: Things I heart. « The Kat's Pajamas Says:

    […] This brownie recipe […]

Leave a Reply

