Having my Cake and Not Eating Two.

There is something slightly sad about the amount of forks that came along with my single order of pancakes…

Hate to say it, but there are a few things about Los Angeles that New York just can’t get right.

  • Mexican food
  • Remodeling homes without destroying the original architecture
  • and the red neck kind of ‘fusion foods’ that so many diners on the West Coast have perfected.

I roam shake shops all over New York, searching for a place that can copy 101 Coffee Shops Orange Creamsicle milkshake without making it taste just a bit too much like vomit. And it baffles me why a place in the city hasn’t thought to grind coffee beans INTO their coffee flavored milkshakes, like they do at Swingers.

There are only a few places in New York who take chances with their food and succeed….and right now I can only think of Vinnies Pizza in Brooklyn, which to be honest that place is a hit or miss. I still don’t know what I think of the tortellini pizza I ate there….

This morning I ordered the Black Magic Pancakes from The Griddle Cafe. Pancakes with crushed oreos throughout the batter.

Not only were they delicious, but they were fucking huuuuuge! I got through 1/2 out of 3 pancakes, and I kind of pride myself of being a human garbage disposal…

hand to pancake ratio….

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Having my Cake and Not Eating Two.”

  1. JC Says:

    I’d probably only be able to eat about half that too. You ever heard of captain crunch french toast? Well now you have. Saw it on Diner’s Drive-ins and Dives.
    My experience while eating in New York has been not to have any expectations, just eat because I’m hungry and if it actually tasted good, then I’m lucky.
    Oh, Food Portions, then vs now:
    http://www.divinecaroline.com/22178/49492-portion-size–vs–now

  2. monkeyKing Says:

    a hearty amen to redneck diner cuisine, fusion and otherwise. the only way those pancakes could get any better… is with a big double shot of whipped cream. (next time ask for the shake n’ baked sweet potatos!)

  3. :: smo :: Says:

    haha amazing. as someone who routinely will do things like put froot loops on nachos and after living in rochester for 5 years where the “local dish” is something called a “garbage plate” i’ve definitely been a bit unimpressed with nyc’s combo foods. honestly right now i’m pretty unimpressed with this city in general but there’s some odd vortex keeping me here. there’s got to be something weird we’re just not finding…

    if i go to la at the same time as you please show me where to find these foods! the last time i was there i had a pretty bad experience and only saw a comic book store and an ice cream chain…

Leave a Reply

