Making Mochi

My Mochi

Mochi photo by Chloe Rice

Mochi is one of my favorite treats. What’s not to love? It enables you to eat ice cream with your hands.

While looking for more info on this amazing Japanese treat that I recently discovered, called Chocolate Monaka, I also found this photo by photo recipe on how to make your own mochi!

This is defiantly going to be my next cooking challenge. Perfect for the summer.

My main concern with it was the thought of finding ‘sweet rice powder’. I could just imagine going into Sunrise Mart and staring blankly at things that could be this rice flour, with uncertainty.

So take note when gazing at a rack full of blunt or foreign named flours for this recipe, that sweet rice powder may also be called glutinous rice or mochiko, in Japanese.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Making Mochi”

  1. gracie Says:

    drinking iced green tea right now, pretending that it’s mochi.

  2. Laura Says:

    Ooooh! I’ve had that ice cream thing before! It was pretty delicious. I wish the outside layer was crunchier, though.

  3. drin Says:

    You saved me so much time by mentioning
    the different names. Had I not read them here,
    I would have wasted a half hour trip to the
    Asian supermarket and come home with no
    Mochi ingredients.

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

