The Marshmallows Are Invading

IMG_5035photo by Chloe Rice

The other day the girlfriend and I backed out on our Hoop Sculpting class, last minute. (Yeah thats right. Working out with a hula hoop. What of it…)

In a haze of shame and pizza guts, I decided that it was a nice day and I was going to take that extra time to walk to my next errand running destination, 4 miles away. About 3/4 of the way there I got distracted by an awesome pair of shit kicking boots in a window and went in to try them on. When I looked outside, it was pooooooooourrrrrrring rain. With minutes moving faster, I decided I had no time for this water to stop falling. 

I wrapped my camera, phone, and other robots into the towel that was intended for an intense hoola hooping class, carefully packed it into my bag, and left the nest of umbrella bearing people. 

The rain was freezing and heavy. After the initial shock  (and unintentional shriek) that came with being cold and completely drenched, came the feeling of joy and liberation. For about 20 blocks I was the only pedestrian on Madison Avenue. The only person who wasn’t letting the atmosphere take a chunk of my day. With my blonde hair clinging to my cheeks and the pleats from my skirt dripping rain directly into my boots, I stomped every puddle I passed. I smiled at the old woman who yelled from the cupcake shop that I was going to catch a horrible cold. I laughed at how ridiculous and child-like the entire experience was.

The Rain StormA photo Tyler took of a girl venturing through the said rainstorm, like me!

I had a dry set of clothes to change right into when I got to where I needed to be. And of course the rain stopped right when I got there, but I’m glad I walked through it. It reminded me that you can’t stop the weather but you can let it stop you. But why? Half the time, you’re on your way home anyways, no?

The storm was so intense and so sudden. And it left one of the most amazing, dooms day worthy skies I’ve seen in this city. 

It was so notably crazy that I’ve compiled a set of photos people took of the same sky and posted on their Flickr accounts:

post rain stormI took this photo shortly after. There was no photoshop involved.

tylers stormphoto source 

flickphoto source

Janesphoto source

barrysphoto source

jasonsphoto source

phophoto source

Tags: , , , , , , ,

14 Responses to “The Marshmallows Are Invading”

  1. Fen Says:

    Mammatus are by far the coolest clouds ever. Thanks for sharing the pics!

  2. Olivia Says:

    Those clouds made their way to Connecticut, too: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2584/3668376757_9b07b66437.jpg?v=0

  3. Booth83 Says:

    I have no words to express how beautiful that is. Well I guess beautiful is one, but thats all I got.

  4. erin Says:

    so pretty.

  5. Kokeshi Says:

    Yesterday the sky in Milan was exactly the same !

  6. Roman Pinzon-Soto Says:

    *warm smile* your narrative style & pizazz leaves one helluva positive imprint on me Chloe ^_^

  7. Roman Pinzon-Soto Says:

    While no Mammatus, i present it’s equally fantastic lesser evil twin or first cousin from my part of the world: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ninjanoodles/3669077479/

Leave a Reply

