“This Is It”

Obit Michael Jackson Teax

Its a beautiful Thursday afternoon. I was eating a burger in the park, when this group of flamboyant teenagers next to me stabbed my ear with their moronically worded conversation. “Oh Em Gee. Em Jay is dead!” I was bored and intrigued so I picked up my phone to see if it was legit of if this was the new Urkel Death Hoax. As I picked up my phone, my mother was calling. 

“hey mom.”

“did you hear the news?” 

“the dead guy ne-“

“HERE WAIT….TMZ saying…..hes stoped  breathing” 

“well that typically happens when your de-” 

“IN A COMA….no…..dead….yeah. Hes dead. Can you believe it? The THRILLAAAA’ “

“Its pretty crazy. I’m eating a burger. Can I call you later?”

As I hang up the phone I realize every single conversation around me is the same one. The group of pride filled teenagers obviously don’t because their to busy vocalizing their friends facebooks status over each other. 

“Oh em gee I want to like stand up and scream it. I’m so sad. You guys I am like so effing sad.” 

A parent pushing a child on a bike walks by and this fucking girl screams at the kid “MICHAEL JACKSON IS DEAD. HES DEAD! I’m so sad!!” I can’t pin point why this is completely disrespectful to everyone involved, but it is.  

5 minutes has passed since the word has broke, and I am already so agitated by ignorance and stupidity that I’m ready to throw a wad of meat at someone.

This thought was cut off by the sound of Thriller being played from a Blackberry. I unwittingly let out a “gahh” sound, trashed my meal, and walked toward the subway. Within this 5 minute walk, I passed 3 bars, 2 ‘pimped out’ cars, and a group of under dressed over weight girls all chanting one of those Michael Jackson songs from the 80’s that I just can’t stand hearing anymore. 

It was Friday. These types of things only occurred more frequently as the night went on. 

I’ve been watching the news trying to find out what else is going on in the world, but all I see is well respected new reporters  coming off like part of the Tiger Beat street team. 

The woman sitting next to me, this morning, had loaded some of photos of him onto her digital camera and was just looking at them. Over and over again. Why?? WHAT IS GOING ON IN YOUR MIND GRAPES???

I’m pretty cranky over it. Didn’t we spend several years referring to this man as ‘Wacko Jacko’?!?

Did I miss something?

Obit Michael Jackson Reax

 

Like many other pedophiles, Jackson had a traumatizing childhood. His dad beat the shit out of him, and he was forced to sing and dance for money before he could care about it.

He was never comfortable with who he was, and that was a sad reality that we all witnessed through his lifetime. But the same question that occurs when the bully that everyone hated in school suddenly kicks the bucket, comes up again:

Why does he stand out as some sort of hero now that he’s dead?? 

Its been nearly 15 years since hes knocked out one of his catchy songs, and stood on a stage  to gracefully flail his pale faced, glittering, anorexic body in a cloud of smoke and a gust of fake wind. 

There has been no credit given towards his philanthropist efforts. The only thing that he should be respected for at the point. Its all about Thriller, the moonwalk, the car Janet Jackson drove into his rental, and other nonsense. Why are we allowing ourselves to be over saturated in this boys lucrative career? Its ridiculous!

bubble

Have we simply forgotten what a morbid fucking creep he ended up being?

  • When he went to court (in his pajamas, disrespectfully enough) when he was charged on kid touching. 
  • When he married Elvis daughter to verify himself as being the ‘king of’ something. 
  • When he paid off the mother of his two children so that he could have full custody of them? I’m sure that unlike his childhood of feeling unloved, his children must have felt wonderful knowing that their mother cared about money more than them. 
  • When he held his infant over a balcony with a sheet over its head to introduce it to the public. How the fuck does someone explain why someone who loved him let that happened, when the child is old enough to question it? 

I know that everyone I know is currently calling my ‘disrespectful’. I’m used to it, but don’t get me wrong. Despite the fact that a part of me thought he had died after he disappeared after his trials in 2005, I was still slightly shocked for the first 30 seconds after I heard it. I was a child  in the 80s, too. I was effected by Michael Jacksons music when I was an easily influenced, open minded tot. When I first saw Captian EO, my world was flipped upside down. It was my first introduction to music! Dancing! Science fiction! MUPPETS! I owned the cassettes and thought he was pretty cool. And Ben?! Ben was an amazing song! When someone asks me what may favorite rat inspired song was, it has always been Ben! 

work

I work in an environment where an image of him is surrounded by flowers, now!

I do respect him for never fighting back at the media with bitterness. I appreciate the millions he has spent on child organizations, in an effort to give back the childhood that he was unable to have. I admire the brilliance in being able to target every age group so dead on, for so long. He was an icon. A staple of a time in everyones life. And if his death were putting an end to an era, I’d say ‘rest in peace, MJ’. But its not ending it. Its bringing out how many idiots there are in this world. 

awe

Can I get you to lower the volume on your MJ Pandora station, mellow down the zombie coreography, and put down your white gloved hand momentarily to give you some facts to think about?

  • Michael Jackson was in a hefty amount of debt
  • After being M.I.A. for several years, he hires a promotion team to start him on a pretty extravagant tour
  • After being considered in ‘great shape’ the management team announces a mysterious postponement of the tour.
  • The entire team working on his new tour, are apparently present at the time of his death.
  • AEG said verified that Jacksons health made him eligible for the first part of insurance.
  • No one can find this previously out of work doctor of his, currently.
  • Many people working for Jackson were given cash advances weren’t very concerned with his troublesome financial state.

Oh hell, I’m bored of this. I think you see that I think that he was more likely offed than anything and that insurance had something to do with it, yada, yada…

 

Poor fella’


13 Responses to ““This Is It””

  1. Booth83 Says:

    It’s sad he’s dead but thats one less freak in the world.

    What happens to pedifiles when they die?

    • ohChloe Says:

      If this wasn’t the beginning of a poor joke, I hope it is now.
      I give up! What happens to pedophiles when the die?

      ….Do they get cremated into toys so that children can play with them for a change?

  2. flutterby3 Says:

    Don’t apologize! I agree with you, it’s sad that he’s gone but he was not a hero and frankly he was creepy and most likely a pedophile or at least just inappropriate in his relationships with young boys.

    • ohChloe Says:

      Inappropriate indeed. Unfortunately, there was no one in that mans life who could say that the way he showed affection was considered ‘wrong’.

  3. Gesine Says:

    I totally agree with you.

  4. Xanthe Says:

    I really agree with you – I like your perspective on the matter.

    People have a nasty habit of idolizing people in death whom they may have quite frankly, completely disrespected in life.

    I feel sorry for MJ though – clearly he was a mentally unwell person – but, no one can dispute the contribution he made to popular culture and music in general.

    • ohChloe Says:

      Right! I understand that we are just conditioned to lay whatever gripes to rest, with the death of someone.
      But its called resting in peace, not rest while we sob over your fantastic choreography in a never ending festivity.

      He did spur a massive amount of creative growth to music and advertisement, in a pretty amazing way, through out his career.

  5. monkeyKing Says:

    avoided the weird MJ hysteria.

    but will admit to pouring a budweiser (or five) in rememberence of Ed McMahon. Ed was an inspiration to all of us decidedly average guys. hiyoooo!

  6. Rei Says:

    OMFGTHANKYOU. Everything you said is exactly how i feel about the whole situation.

  7. Lani Says:

    Thanks goodness, someone finally said it! This makes me breathe a huge sigh of relief that the entire world has not lost all good sense.

  8. Digital Camera Guide Says:

    Thanks for sharing it, appreciate it a lot

  9. Mary Says:

    Oh fuck yes. I know I’m super late responding to this, but I didn’t even know you had a blog until now. I saw pictures of you from Gala Darling’s blog once upon a time, and I thought you were super cool, but I didn’t know about this site. Anyway, you are so fucking right on, and I’m glad you’re saying it because I’m frustrated with how freaking Walter Cronkite died and people cared for like a week b/c apparently no one remembers what legitimate journalism is supposed to look like anymore, but people are *still* blogging about how sad they are that MJ died and you know what? I don’t care. I never liked him. I mean, I like a couple songs, etc, but I don’t like him on a personal level. I’m sorry for his family’s loss. I’m sorry for the things his children will face. I’m sorry his life turned out the way it did due to abuse and fame and addiction, but man… he wasn’t a hero. He was a sad example of what we, the consumer public, do to children who have the misfortune of being famous. *sigh* That’s a bit of a rant. Sorry. Anyway, I’m super glad you have this blog. Peace.

Leave a Reply

