I Dig Your Goatee

StareaterThis predatory fish, called a stareater, uses its luminous red chin appendage to lure prey into striking distance.

The fish was one of more than 30,000 marine creatures hauled up by a team of 26 scientists and 18 crew during a census of Antarctic life in early 2008.

The team endured icy weather as cold as 8.6 degrees Fahrenheit which caused equipment to freeze up and samples to ice over as soon as they landed on deck.

You can see a series of photos of what was found here.

findingnemo

I guess everyone gets veneers in Hollywood.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “I Dig Your Goatee”

  1. Laura Says:

    I used to have a book on marine life and the section on deep sea creatures was one of my favorites even though it was slightly creepy. Some weirdly interesting stuff lurks below.

    “I’m dead. I’m dead. I’m dead, I’m dead, I’m dead, I died, I’m dead.”

    Quotes from that movie randomly pop into my head throughout the day. Amazing. Veneers or not.

  2. :: smo :: Says:

    anglerfish vs stareater. stareater wins every time. especially when a daggertooth is there to back im up. holy geez!

  3. erin Says:

    i just puked in my mouth a little.

Leave a Reply

