Get Dark

radsource

Growing up, by mother was always against painting any walls, any color. So when I moved into a place where I was given a 6 room redecorating challenge, I went crazy with painting and wallpapering. I loved every room in that house. I used all of the colors that inspired me. The problem with it was that since I wasn’t bored of seeing the same rooms when I left, I couldn’t seem to utilize the same colors in my new apartment without associating it with the previous apartment. 

So I decided I needed something new and bold. Almost everything I own is white. I feel like too  much white against a white wall can look empty and cold unless it is a cluster of off white antiques chachkas.

So I went completely opposite.  

Telling my family that I’ve painted a wall in my bedroom black, is like telling them that I’ve quit everything to follow in the footsteps of Michael Campbell.

I’ll admit that when I put the first coat down I panicked slightly, but then remembered how nice it can look, if its done properly. 

I have nothing to show for my black room yet, except for a happy face.

1source

2source

3source

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Get Dark”

  1. gracie Says:

    omfg…LOVE that bear!

    your house is so cute. black bedrooms are the best.

    http://woolgatheringandmiscellany.blogspot.com/2008/11/paint-it-black.html

  2. Booth83 Says:

    You should definitely put a bear on that wall.

  3. Mrs. Bob Villa « Shoplifting in a Ghost Town Says:

    […] This was around the time that I posted this entry. […]

  4. Mrs. Bob Villa | Shoplifting in a Ghost Town Says:

    […] This was around the time that I posted this entry. […]

Leave a Reply

