Poor Mans Meal: Chicken and Broccoli With Wonton Noodles in Oyster Sauce

ilovenoodlesI can’t resist a good noodle dish! It has made me cringe at the thought substituting it with rice.

Recipes don’t seem to appeal to me unless its on TV or accompanied by many photos to reassure me that I didn’t have to go to culinary school in order to not mess it up.Its been so long since I’ve cooked anything. Lack of home, free time, and motivation have been large contributing factors. Not to mention that, I find it hard to make a meal when I know I’m the only person who will be eating it. It just seems like a waste of food. But today I’ve proven myself wrong!

I threw something together for my lunch today that took 10 bucks, 5 minutes, and no effort!

 

The other day, I stopped into my favorite little Chinatown restaurant to get some soup dumplings. They’re amazing and 8 of them cost $4.50. (note: DO NOT call them ‘soup dumplings’ while ordering at a genuine Chinese Restaurant. They hate it. HATE it. You must ask for the Steamed Juicy Pork Buns)

Near the restaurant, on Bayard St. they have a few meat, noodle, and veggie specialty shops that sell produce for so cheap that I dare not ask where it comes from. I probably couldn’t even if I wanted to, since no one in there speaks very fruent Engrish. (Sorry…)

whatyouneed1To make my lunch, this is all you really need.

I got the following list of ingredients, for this recipe:

  • 2 heads of broccoli= $1.00
  • 1 head of garlic= .30
  • 1 branch(?) of ginger=.60
  • 4 chicken tits=$3.60
  • 4 nests of thick wonton noodles=$1.50
  • bottle of oyster sauce=$2.50

I payed a total of $9.50! NINE N’ A HALF BUCKS! Oh frugal joy!

 

Ok. Heres what you do…
img_3139Let the chicken sit in a this juice bag overnight.

 

 


veggiechopSeparate and rinse your little broccoli family


img_3145Boil the water (for the noodles) while putting this much oil in the wok, and crank the flame all the way up.

 


themixCook the chicken in the marinade until its still slightly pink, and add your broken home of veggies.

 

img_3159I really like this oyster sauce, so I added an extra tablespoon along with the broccoli.

img_3160Lower the heat, and cover for about a minute.

 


drowningpastaUse that minute to drown a nest of noodles in boiling water

Really. Just a minute. People who overcook fresh pastas drive me NUTS! It really only takes a minute or 2, since it is already cooked and just need to heat up and separate.

 


drainnairDrain the noodles and uncover the wok.

At this point you can add the noodles into the wok of food, and mix it together. But I like layers so heres what I did:

img_3169 Layer One

img_3174Layer two

img_3176And what is currently residing in mah’ guts!

Photos are all property of Chloe Rice

So is the recipie. 

Please steal the recipe, and not the photos. 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Poor Mans Meal: Chicken and Broccoli With Wonton Noodles in Oyster Sauce”

  1. lailablogs Says:

    absolutely delicious … i love it .. its a must try for me .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

  2. erin Says:

    that looks so delicious.

  3. :: smo :: Says:

    when i was broke i ate a lot of rice, beans and noodles [ok still do]. but it’s amazing what you can make for very little money. on of the biggest $$ savers too, is cooking like you ARE making food for others, and just making yourself leftovers. sometimes it’s hard for me to portion stuff out and not just eat it all at once, but i can definitely stretch things when i need to.

    sometimes i’ll boil some ramen noodles and basically strain them and dump a bunch of other shit on top. like teriyaki sauce, and some fried veggies or seitan or somethin. it works pretty well to get some cheap noodley goodness in there.

    • itschloe Says:

      theres entire cook books dedicated to the things you can do with ramen noodles! Left overs usually involve microwaves, and those things freak me out.

Leave a Reply

