To The Vector Belongs The Spoils

the_dot_and_the_line1Chuck Jones directed this reasonable love story in 1965. Based around a short story by Norton Juster in 1963, Jones showed his creative genius by turning shapes into intriguing charters. A sensible line, in love with a perfect circle, who was in love with a chaotic squiggle. Creating an open ended love polygon (I am fully aware that this is an oxymoron) if you will.

Each of its three main chracters are animated into life.

squiggle

The Squiggle (animated onto rice paper before being xeroxed onto the cells, in order to create its unkempt appearance) shuffled around the screen organically and frivolously


dotty

The red Dot seemed to roll in and out of a scene with grace. Unchanged from her surroundings.


thelines

The main character. the Line, was visually effected  by human-like emotions. For instance, when he became depressed and friends began to notice him getting ‘thin’.


The cartoon did an excellent job at combining geometry and human emotion. Why aren’t people able to create animations with simplicity and morals, like this anymore?

sexymath

Do we not have the patience to watch ten minutes worth of shapes? Are all of our great animators gone, with the hyper expanding increase of technology?

Where have all the Chucks gone???

As said in this animation:

“Freedom is not a license for chaos,” he observed the next morning. ‘Oh, what a head!’ And right there and then he decided not to squander his talents on cheap exhibitionism.”

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “To The Vector Belongs The Spoils”

  1. :: smo :: Says:

    this makes me very happy.

    There is a Chuck Jones documentary screening, with live commentary by notable animation historians this thursday at the mocca. I will be there. I’ll keep you posted as well if you’re into it.

    Thursday, April 23rd, 7pm
    Chuck Jones Memories of Childhood screening and discussion with filmmakers Peggy Stern and John Canemaker
    Admission: $5 | Free for MoCCA Members

    I love Chuck Jones. Windsor McCay got me started, Jones [Chuck Amuck, which my ex gf stole…] and Avery hooked me, then the Fleischers, Clampett and Scribner reeled me in.

    No one thinks anymore. No one plans. I got into this shit because of those guys, reading about the way they worked their way up, the way it all worked and everyone collaborated. Now here I am, over 60 years later, and nothing’s the same. Koreans do the animation part because who wants to do that? MAYBE ME?! blast.

    I’ve devoted a large point of my life to “saving animation.” Maybe some day I’ll be good enough to back up all my talk. I’m working on it.

  2. Booth83 Says:

    Im deffinatly a line, and this really made me want to see the old cartoons I grew up watching. Simple but good.

  3. _joey_ Says:

    This blog’s where its happenning. Keep up the good work.

  4. mrred Says:

    Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.

Leave a Reply

