ohJoy!

 

people who act like cartoon characters

dogs, too

people who take photos of others without the fear of rejection

fending off colds by drinking ice cold smoothies in the middle of winter

disregard for the restrictions of weather

 

(wo)man eating refrigerators

 

saving money by making my own bread

 

using said bread to make the perfect sandwich

 

Galas refusal to admit that we’re too old to fit on the toddler swings.

“It’s fine…just a little pinchy on the sides”

 

redneck martini shakers

 

Lilian Caruanas Punks & Skinheads photo exhibit.

 

my grocery store, for keeping their Christmas decorations up year round

making cookies that are bigger than my head

snow!

 

fresh uni

 

drawings in unlikely places

 

learning about onigiri with the help of rice ball drawings

 

watching Looney Tunes and drinking coffee in a basement, every Sunday

 

new friends hanging out with old ones. Apparently one is silver, and the other is gold.

 

he does have a tint of gold to him…

 

taking off my pants when I think they make me look fat

honorable mentions:

  • Junji Ito manga
  • The Leauge and Paul Scheer in general
  • raw vegetables with salt
  • the Flipboard app for iPad
  • fresh popcorn for breakfast
  • the TLC Pandora seed
  • Pirate Radio/ The Boat That Rocked
  • deflating an inflatable bed by laying on it as it sinks
  • when people offer their seat on the subway, because I’m holding a lot of shopping bags
  • Art Streibers photos of Justin Beiber for Vainity Fair
  • 38 of New Yorks best soups
  • running into my friends on public transit
  • fresh pillow cases
  • teaching my dog how to high five

 

10 Responses to “ohJoy!”

  1. monkeyKing Says:

    yes!

  2. Alison Heller Says:

    Great TiLT! I’m also teaching my dog to high five. I’m glad there’s at least one other dog in the world who will be awesome if ever encountering my dog.

  3. Katie Says:

    I love these posts. I think I may have to copy you soon.
    On a side note, I wish you still lived in Florida. We need more people like you who find good in the seemingly mundane things that surround them.

  4. Kourai Says:

    It’s so amazing that you’re reading Junji Ito, he’s my favorite Mangaka!
    I recommend you to read Uzumaki, though all of his works are pretty intense. http://manga.animea.net/uzumaki-chapter-1-page-1.html

  5. Frank Says:

    I love gluten, poor allergic folks be damned. And thanks for posting that list of soups, I know what I will be exploring when I get to New York, after the thaw.

  6. TC Says:

    Oh, soup, it’s so good in the Winter.

    Aside: http://photojojo.com/store/awesomeness/camera-lens-mug/

  7. Elle Sees Says:

    i do believe i see a face in that cookie.

  8. Shayla Says:

    Squeeee

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

