Bad Artists Die of Natural Causes: The Mix

14_oberst2_lgl1Bands are such a market, nowadays. And a dying one at that. Just milking what they can as fast as they can based mainly around an image and an air-headed fan base, more than the music. 

Fleeting Foxes?

Go screw yourselves.

The type of music I used to keep an ear out for, has turned into  winey sludge with stock riffs. It has lost whatever made it memorable or inspiring, by holding on too closely to what inspired them and hacking it to shit. When musicians stick too closely to the music that inspires them, i feel like it ultimately ruins the category of music they want so badly to be part of. Shit can only inspire more shit.

Heres the aproach that seems to work: Getting your drum stick out of your ass, and realizing that you’re not anywhere near as good as your idols. You never will be. But the only thing to aspire for is uniqueness. Unique makes you memorable. Memorable is a beautiful inspiration to do something well, and never finding satisfaction. 

The most innovated ‘artists’ seem to be the ones that end up offing themselves. 
Because they seem to know they’re not who they idolize.
This is why Ian Curtis is rotting and why you don’t see this Conor Oberst character on any type of suicide watch.

SpringMixI’m not artist. I am not a musician. I don’t even care for ‘good music’, by todays standards. But I don’t think a time will come when I don’t like making a mix cd.

Being a happily rebellious teenager, I completely missed that pre-emo late 90′s era of music that included a lot of band like…i don’t know, Quasi
I suppose I thought that if the music wasn’t happy or angry I wanted nothing to do with it because I couldn’t relate. Nor did I have any desire to relate to anything remotely sad.
It apparently just took a few elements (and 10 extra years) to finally  appreciate this type of music:
  • Acceptance of sadness
  • A clean mental slate/ open  mind
  • The right song to guide you in (I think mine may have been Sidewalk by Built to Spill)
dancinThe only new music that I’ve found myself listening to is mainly hip hop, and it can only amuse me for so long. I recently decided to start a trend to keep me encouraged on music, even if its ‘out dated’. 

I would keep my spare computer with all of my iTunes music (bought and ‘borrowed’) playing on shuffle continuously. I made a playlist to document the month and year.  Every time a song came on that would catch my attention, I would be sure to add it to the playlist. By the end of the month, I would have a collection of songs that I had spent so long ignoring or letting myself forget about how much I enjoyed. Then I made a few copies of this mix, and sent it to a few friends along side some people who just sent me their addresses. 

March was the second month of this irrelevant project of mine, and was the first one where I sent it out to others. I plan on doing it every month since I have a memory that seems to mainly work when stimulated by sounds and smells. 

Heres what was on my most recent mix:

  1. Fortress: Pinback
  2. I Wanna Know About You: International Noise Conspericy 
  3. Mason City: The Fiery Furnaces
  4. This Here Giraffe: The Flaming Lips
  5. Epic Problem: Fuguzi
  6. Winters Come And Gone: Gillian Welch
  7. A String Of Pearls: Glenn Miller
  8. Look How We Made These People: Half-Handed Cloud
  9. Screw The Naysayers: The Hidden Hand
  10. 1-2-8-: Mighty Mighty Bosstones
  11. Anything You Can Do: Irving Berlin
  12. Footsteps In The Dark: The Isley Brothers
  13. In The Wee Small Hours: The John Pizzarelli Trio
  14. Would You Die For Me: Notorious B.I.G.
  15. Present Tense: Piebald
  16. Cupid: Sam Cooke
  17. Kodachrome: Paul Simon
  18. Penelope: Pinback
  19. Engine Heart: Mirah

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Bad Artists Die of Natural Causes: The Mix”

  1. Booth83 Says:

    I think thats why we have so many different categories of music. People want to sound like there idols but lack the talent so they end up sounding like insulting versions of great musicians.

    Thats why we have a Modern Jazz Fusion section at the record store.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

